NAPLAN - Review of minimum standards of senior secondary literacy and numeracy

The VCAA has been asked by the Minister for Education, the Hon James Merlino MP, to consider whether there should be an explicit requirement for students to meet minimum standards of literacy and numeracy in order to be awarded the Victorian Certificate of Education (VCE) or the Victorian Certificate of Applied Learning (VCAL).

The Minister has asked the VCAA to consult widely and to provide a report by the end of August 2018.

In responding to this request, the VCAA has developed the Consultation paper to which interested parties may respond.  Download the Consultation paper Word (docx - 82.54kb)PDF (pdf - 49.94kb)

How to have your say!

You may submit feedback to vcaa.consultation@edumail.vic.gov.au  or complete an online survey at Engage Victoria.

Alternately, submissions can be mailed to:

Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority
Literacy and Numeracy consultation
Level 7, 2 Lonsdale Street
Melbourne VIC 3000

Responses must be received no later than Friday 18 May 2018. 

Metropolitan and regional consultation events

We will be holding various community consultation events in regional and metropolitan locations. Please register for the consultation event you wish to attend using this registration form.

Date & Location

Melbourne - Thursday 19 April Theatrette, Level 5

5.00pm-6.30pm 121 Exhibition Street, Melbourne

Frankston - Monday 23 April Frankston Arts Centre

5.00pm-6.30pm 27–37 Davey Street, Frankston

Glen Waverley - Tuesday 24 April Department of Education and Training Glen Waverley

5.00pm-6.30pm 295 Springvale Road, Glen Waverley

Geelong - Thursday 26 April Deakin University Geelong Waurn Ponds Campus

5.00pm-6.30pm 75 Pigdons Road, Waurn Ponds

Bendigo - Monday 30 April Department of Education and Training Bendigo

5.00pm-6.30pm 7–15 McLaren Street, Bendigo

Sunshine - Wednesday 2 May Sunshine Library

5.00pm-6.30pm 301 Hampshire Road, Sunshine

Ballarat - Federation University
Thursday 3 May Ballarat Technology Park - Central

5.00pm-6.30pm 106-110 Lydiard Street South, Ballarat

Broadmeadows - Monday 7 May Broadmeadows Sporting Club

5.00pm-6.30pm 111 Sunset Boulevard, Jacana

Wodonga - Tuesday 8 May Best Western Hovell Tree,

5.00pm-6.30pm 614 Hovell Street, Albury

Bairnsdale - Tuesday 8 May Bairnsdale Sporting and Convention Centre

5.00pm-6.30pm 117 Great Alpine Road, Lucknow

Shepparton - Wednesday 9 May Goulburn Valley Hotel

5.00pm-6.30pm 223 High Street, Shepparton

Traralgon - Wednesday - 9 May 5.00pm-6.30pm TBC

Warrnambool - Monday 14 May 5.00pm-6.30pm TBC

Horsham - Tuesday 15 May 5.00pm-6.30pm TBC

Mildura - Wednesday 16 May 5.00pm-6.30pm TBC